News 2019

Title:  Hillwalking Committee News
Date:  26/03/2019

Mountaineering Ireland's Hillwalking Committee had their first meeting on 21st March 2019. The committee was set up following a motion from the Irish Ramblers Club which was passed at the 2018 AGM to establish a Hillwalking Committee. The committee, guided by the Terms of Reference, have started working on the initial Work Plan developed from the Hillwalking Working Group.

The new Hillwalking Committee, is made up of ten members from a wide geographical spread offering a wide range of skills and knowledge collectively. As shown in the above picture, we are delighted to have (left to right in photo) Chris Evans, Russell Mills, Ruth Whelan (MI Staff and secretary), Marian Wallis, Grainne McLaughlin (board member and Chairperson), Veronica Kelly, Louise Nolan, Roy Madden, Margaret Collins (absent from picture) and Declan Murphy (absent from picture) on the committee and are looking forward to the work that they will do for Hillwalking on behalf of our members.

We would like to thank all the new committee members for taking on this important role and wish them the very best in their endeavour to support and deliver more for our hillwalking community.








Important information regarding cookies

This site requires cookies, which are small text files that the site puts on your computer, to operate. These cookies help us provide a better service to you. We use these cookies to track general user traffic information and to help the site function properly. Cookies are used by approximately 92% of all sites on the internet.